Whether it’s your fault or another person’s, a car accident can cause a detrimental financial burden to you and your family. If you have been involved in a car accident, the first thing you should do is report the crash and seek medical care as soon as possible. Your well-being and safety is the top priority during this time, and it’s essential to remain calm through what may be a stressful and overwhelming experience.
Hiring an experienced Decatur car accident lawyer can help eliminate any stress you’re feeling and help you focus on your recovery journey. Our team of knowledgeable and dedicated car accident attorneys at Marks Law Group has decades of experience fighting and winning personal injury claims in Decatur and throughout Georgia.
When you call our law firm, we will provide you with the strength and compassion you need during this difficult time. Call us today at (678) 251-9309, or chat with us online to speak with an experienced Georgia car accident attorney.
Not everyone who has been involved in an auto accident needs to seek legal representation. However, if your motor vehicle crash was severe or complex, then it’s necessary to hire a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible, so they can begin building your accident claim. If any of the following circumstances apply to your situation, hire an experienced attorney right away:
Minor fender benders rarely require the help of a personal injury attorney, however, there are special scenarios where an attorney’s services could be helpful after a minor car accident.
The soon you hire a car accident attorney, the better. In Georgia, you only have two years to file a personal injury claim. Although this may seem like a lot of time, you can lose valuable evidence in just a few weeks. Thus, it’s crucial to call an attorney as soon as you’re able, even if you’re not sure if you wish to file a lawsuit.
How much do lawyers charge for car accident claims in Atlanta?
At Marks Law Group, we offer a free initial consultation and a free case review, and we can help you choose the legal path that’s best for you and your family. Call us today at (678) 251-9309, or chat with us online to learn how we can help.
It’s hard to find an average car accident settlement that reflects your specific car accident case because each case is unique. Settlement amounts have varied substantially throughout the years because of the specific nature of damages. Some estimates put the average settlement for a minor to a moderate car accident at $20,000 to $30,000.
Severe car accidents could be worth more depending on the situation. Some car accident victims in Georgia have received six- and seven-figure settlements for their auto crash damages.
Georgia Car Accident Statistics
The value of an auto accident settlement depends on the severity of the accident. A fatal accident involving a totaled vehicle, catastrophic injuries, and/or wrongful death will be worth more than a minor fender bender. If your injuries significantly affected your life, your case could be worth a significant amount in Georgia. Traumatic brain injuries caused by car accidents are one of the most impactful on victims.
However, because no two accidents are the same, don’t gauge your claim’s value based on the average alone. Your personal injury claim’s outcome could differ vastly from other cases--even within the same accident type. Instead of judging the value of your claim based on how much others have received, consult with an experienced car accident attorney for a personalized estimate.
Only a personal injury lawyer can accurately determine what your car accident settlement could be worth after an in-depth review of the facts in your case.
The insurance company adjuster determines fault in a car accident after reviewing the police report and other evidence. Also, they may ask you and the other driver questions regarding the collision to piece together a reliable narrative of what happened.
Once the insurance adjuster determines who caused the accident or if both parties shared fault, they assign percentages of fault to each driver. Depending on your percentage of fault and the laws in your state, you may pursue compensation.
The Marks Law Group Glove Box Accident Accident Form
In Georgia, insurance companies estimate car accident faults with a percentage. If you’re over 50% liable for the car accident, you can’t claim damages, no matter how devastating the accident or the injuries. Under Georgia’s comparative negligence laws, even if you're 49% responsible for the accident, you can receive compensation.
Since anyone, 50% liable for the accident can’t receive a settlement, insurance adjusters have an incentive to scrutinize every detail. They will analyze police reports, hire forensic accident experts, and analyze recorded statements from witnesses and those involved in the accident. Thus, it’s crucial for drivers to exercise caution when speaking with insurance company representatives without a lawyer, because the insurance company may misconstrue your testimony to shift blame.
Every state has a law that defines the time period after an accident that an injury victim has to file a personal injury. These are known as the Statute of Limitations. Georgia's Statute of Limitations sets a two year time period for injury victims to file a personal injury claim. Two years seems like a long time but the longer you wait to file a claim, the less likely you are to receive the maximum compensation you are due. It is best to contact a Decatur car accident lawyer as soon as possible to get the claim process started.
Since pain and suffering isn’t based on actual financial expenses, it’s hard to quantify an exact amount to pay. However, insurance companies have come up with a formula to calculate how much you should ask for. The formula has three parts:
This system isn’t perfect, but it works; car accident victims who suffered more get paid a lot of money. However, you can still prove your case. Unfortunately, insurance companies are notorious for undervaluing pain and suffering, so it’s imperative to hire a car accident attorney to represent you.
Rideshare Accidents are becoming a common occurrence across Georgia.
Decatur Uber Accident Lawyer
An experienced auto accident attorney can make a tremendous difference in how much money you recover for your pain and suffering. This money matters because it can help you rebuild your life after a traumatic car accident. In most personal injury lawsuits, pain and suffering is most of the money you get, and it can go up to $1 million. Don’t allow the insurance company to shortchange you.
If you have sustained personal injuries in a motor vehicle accident, our Decatur car accident attorneys can help you recover the maximum compensation. The car accident lawyers at Marks Law Group will give you a free initial consultation and help you determine how much you should ask for pain and suffering after a car accident. Don’t wait! Call us today, or chat with us online to learn how we can help.
If you were severely injured in an auto accident in Decatur, you may go through physical, mental, and financial challenges. At Marks Law Group, we understand what you’re going through. We have extensive experience handling similar cases, and we can help you.
We will take care of every aspect of your personal injury claim from start to finish, and we will fight fiercely to make sure you get the compensation you deserve for your injuries and damages. With our team of experienced and dedicated Georgia injury attorneys by your side, your job is to recover and get better.
Call us today at (678) 251-9309, or chat with us online for a free initial consultation. Our Decatur office is only 3 minutes away from Decatur Transit Station.